Waiheke Island sculpture walk

Every two years a spectacular event happens on Waiheke Island in New Zealand. Headland sculpture on the Gulf is a world class sculpture walk and was voted number thirty five on the New York Times list of things to do in the world. It is a three week event that includes a top-notch music venue, most of which is free.

It would be worth the trip just for the island views and ocean panoramas, but for three weeks it is magic. Forget the Hobbit!

2013 was the 3rd biennale. I was fortunate to be at the 2011 and 2013 events. I had my Canon S95 with me so I can share some of that experience.

The pictures below are 2011.

The pictures below are 2013

More on Waiheke

There will be more to say about Waiheke Island in future jots.

More sculpture

Also on the island there are two exceptional outdoor private sculpture gardens that are open to the public. More on these later.